WPT celebrates a Summer of the Arts

All summer long, WPT invites you to take a front row seat in some of the finest venues across Wisconsin and around the world without ever leaving the comfort of your own living room. Your television becomes the state’s largest stage as Wisconsin Public Television celebrates The Summer of the Arts, an event filled with music, films, dance and more. The schedule includes a great new season of Great Performances at the Met (Don Giovanni is pictured at right), the return of Concerts on the Square from the Capitol in Madison, a series of eclectic Directors’ Cut films from Wisconsin filmmakers, engaging documentaries about energetic national arts projects and a collection of music performances by talented Wisconsin artists — including Five by Design, Randy Sabien, Bill Miller and Bach Dynamite and Dancing Society — in some of the most beautiful theaters across the state.

Explore the full lineup of programs below. But first, I invite you to whet your appetite for the wide array of arts programs you’ll find on WPT this summer with a few exclusive video previews.

Great Performances at the Met season premiere – Don Giovanni
9:30 p.m. Sunday, June 10

Watch Don Giovanni on PBS. See more from Great Performances.

Director’s Cut – 48 Hour Film Festival 9:30 p.m. Friday, June 15

Mariachi High – 11 p.m. Friday, July 6

An overview of some of the other great programs coming from PBS’ Summer Arts Festival

Watch PBS Arts Summer Festival – Preview on PBS. See more from pbs.

Here’s a full schedule of programs in WPT’s Summer of the Arts through July. See the August schedule.

Let us know which programs you are most excited about in the comment section below!

Austin City Limits “The National / Band of Horses”
11 p.m. Sunday, June 3

Craft in America “Threads”
9 p.m. Tuesday, June 5

Paris the Luminous Years
10 p.m. Wednesday, June 6

Great Performances at the Met “Don Giovanni”
9:30 p.m. Sunday, June 10

Director’s Cut “48 Hour Film Project”
9:30 p.m. Friday, June 15

30-Minute Music Hour “Primitive Culture”
12:30 a.m. Saturday, June 16

Great Performances at the Met “Satyagraha”
9:30 p.m. Sunday, June 17

30-Minute Music Hour “F. Stokes”
12:30 a.m. Saturday, June 23

30-Minute Music Hour “Ida Jo and the Show”
12:30 a.m. Sunday, June 24

Great Performances at the Met “Rodelinda”
9:30 p.m. Sunday, June 24

30-Minute Music Hour “JC Brooks and the Uptown Sound”
12:30 a.m. Saturday, June 30

Idina Menzel Live Barefoot at the Symphony
9:30 p.m. Sunday, July 1

Five By Design
9 p.m. Monday, July 2

A Capitol Fourth 2012
7 p.m. Wednesday, July 4

Mariachi High
11 p.m. Friday, July 6

Randy Sabien and the Fiddlehead Band
9 p.m. Monday, July 9

John Lequizamo’s Tales From a Ghetto Klown
11 p.m. Friday, July 13

Live From the Artists Den “Adele”
12 a.m. Saturday, July 14

Concerts on the Square “Sweeping Soundtracks”
6 p.m. Saturday, July 14

Chris Isaak Live! Beyond the Sun
10:30 p.m. Sunday, July 15

Bill Miller in Concert
9 p.m. Monday, July 16

Director’s Cut “Nerdcore for Life”
9:30 p.m. Friday, July 20

30-Minute Music Hour “Carolina Chocolate Drops”
12:30 a.m. Saturday, July 21

Great Performances “Memphis”
10:30 p.m. Sunday, July 22

Bach Dancing & Dynamite Society
9 p.m. Monday, July 23

The Pretenders – Live in London
12 a.m. Saturday, July 28

30-Minute Music Hour “Katie Powderly”
12:30 a.m. Sunday, July 29

Riverdance: Live From Beijing
10:30 p.m. Sunday, July 29

American Masters “Marilyn Monroe Still Life”
7 p.m. Tuesday, July 31

This entry was posted in Resources, Show Previews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WPT celebrates a Summer of the Arts

  1. Marshall Anderson says:

    I am interested in knowing when further Great Performances from the Met will be aired – after the last scheduled one: RODELINDA on June 24th. Thanks!

    • Marcus says:

      Currently, the only performances we have scheduled after Rodelinda are “Ernani” on August 5 at 10:30 p.m. and “Enchanted Island” on August 26 at 9:30 p.m.

  2. judy says:

    Will 5 by design appear again on TV.
    Certainly hope so.

    Judy

    • Marcus says:

      Currently, we have Five by Design scheduled to air again on Sunday, July 8 at 9:30 p.m. and Saturday, August 18 at 7 p.m.

  3. Patricia Biebl says:

    I wanted to tell WPT just how much I enjoyed the Concerts of Summer. This group was really terrific. I was fortunate to hear them “live” last evening at Viroqua’s Commnity Concert Series . They were as terrific in person as they were on TV. I could not get over how fast they did the wardrobe changes! The music was wonderful, and the evening ended too quickly for me. I could have enjoyed their singing for a longer time. The band was also amazing and played such great music too. Hope we are fortunate to hear them again, in person or on the wonderful PBS/WPT concerts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>