Born to Explore with Richard Wiese

Born to Explore with Richard Wiese

A modern day Indiana Jones, host Richard Wiese takes viewers around the world in search of adventure, wildlife, and cultures untouched by modern civilization in BORN TO EXPLORE. Throughout the 26-part series, the globe-trotting host travels across six continents and more than 10 countries with hopes of creating a positive understanding of the many beautiful cultures that inhabit our planet. Richard goes to Namibia, where he treks through the oldest desert in the world to track rare desert-adapted elephants. He also journeys to the Tiwi Islands off the northern coast of Australia, and goes "outbush" with a group of Tiwi elders to learn how they live off the land through hunting. The globe-trotting adventurer then travels to Borneo, Indonesia, one of only two islands on the planet where orangutans live in the wild. Richard experiences life aboard a "klotok" boat during his three-day journey deep into the rainforest in search of these magnificent great apes. He finds out why Borneo's rainforests are vanishing and meets the local communities who are banding together to save these orangutan habitats. In Cyprus, he joins world-famous archeologist Dr. Joan Connelly, who is digging for clues to confirm the existence of a sacred temple built by Cleopatra to honor her love child with Julius Caesar. Whether investigating the existence of the Loch Ness monster in Scotland or experiencing the tastes and aromas of Istanbul's fabled Spice Market at a shop where coffee has been roasted the same way for more than 500 years, Richard seeks the answers to questions that have been asked throughout history, and guides viewers on journeys across the globe uncovering unique stories, people and wildlife. BORN TO EXPLORE is celebrated among critics and has won two Daytime Emmy Awards, 24 Telly Awards, four Parents' Choice Awards, and a CINE Golden Eagle.

WPT Blog Posts

There are currently no WPT Blog Posts for this series.

Series Support

Funding for Born to Explore with Richard Wiese is provided in part by:

Upcoming Broadcasts of Born to Explore with Richard Wiese

England: The Queen's Swan

Episode #112

Wednesday, May 22 at 8:00 am

Cyprus: Cleopatra's Secret Island

Episode #113

Wednesday, May 29 at 8:00 am

Namibia: Painted People of the Desert

Episode #114

Wednesday, Jun 5 at 8:00 am

Scotland: Land of Loch Ness

Episode #115

Wednesday, Jun 12 at 8:00 am

Previous Broadcasts

South Africa: Saving The Mighty Rhino

Episode #111

Wednesday, May 15 2019 at 2:00 pm

Chile: Flowering of the Llamas

Episode #110

Wednesday, May 8 2019 at 2:00 pm

Morocco: The Last Nomads

Episode #109

Wednesday, May 1 2019 at 2:00 pm

Tanzania: Summit On Mt. Kilimanjaro

Episode #108

Wednesday, Apr 24 2019 at 2:00 pm

Canada: The Mighty Polar Bear Migration

Episode #107

Wednesday, Apr 17 2019 at 2:00 pm

Indonesia: Orangutans-People of the Forest

Episode #106

Wednesday, Apr 10 2019 at 2:00 pm

Scotland: Vikings, Puffins & Ponies

Episode #105

Wednesday, Apr 3 2019 at 2:00 pm

India: Good Karma

Episode #104

Wednesday, Mar 27 2019 at 2:00 pm

Namibia: Wild Cheetah

Episode #103

Wednesday, Mar 20 2019 at 2:00 pm

Turkey: Journey to Love Valley

Episode #102

Wednesday, Mar 13 2019 at 2:00 pm

Tanzania: Remote Tribes

Episode #101

Wednesday, Mar 6 2019 at 2:00 pm

Africa: The Elephant Trunk Show

Episode #126

Wednesday, Feb 27 2019 at 2:00 pm

Iceland: Fire & Ice

Episode #125

Wednesday, Feb 20 2019 at 2:00 pm

Chile: Kissed by the Sea

Episode #124

Wednesday, Feb 13 2019 at 2:00 pm

Tanzania: The Last Stone Age Tribe

Episode #123

Wednesday, Feb 6 2019 at 2:00 pm

Turkey: Land of Legends

Episode #122

Wednesday, Jan 30 2019 at 2:00 pm

Australia: Secret Outback

Episode #121

Wednesday, Jan 23 2019 at 2:00 pm

South Africa: Turtles and Tsongas

Episode #120

Wednesday, Jan 16 2019 at 2:00 pm

Uganda: Mountain Gorillas

Episode #119

Wednesday, Jan 9 2019 at 2:00 pm

Morocco: Secret Village

Episode #118

Wednesday, Jan 2 2019 at 2:00 pm

India: Incredible Land

Episode #117

Wednesday, Dec 26 2018 at 2:00 pm

South Africa: Amazing Encounters

Episode #116

Wednesday, Dec 19 2018 at 2:00 pm

Scotland: Land of Loch Ness

Episode #115

Wednesday, Dec 12 2018 at 2:00 pm

Namibia: Painted People of the Desert

Episode #114

Wednesday, Dec 5 2018 at 2:00 pm